Firefox can’t find the file at /C:/Windows/System32/energy-report.html.

I encountered the above just now as I was attempting to open the html file generated by the powercfg -ENERGY command.

My first thought was to try opening it in another browser, Chrome, to see if it can load. Result = failure. Hmm.. I did some googling and nothing substantial was discovered.

At last, I had a brainwave and concluded that perhaps there is something to do with the security in Windows system folders, as this particular html file is in the System32 folder. I copied the energy-report.html file to another directory and lo and behold, it loaded properly in the browser 😀

Apparently, my hypothesis was correct but of course, without deeper analysis it is impossible to definitively determine that it is due to the enhanced security for Windows system folders..

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

